Blackmore
Veterans Law, P.C.
PACT Act presumptive service connection burn pits Agent Orange toxic exposure VA claims

'Presumptive' Does Not Mean Automatic. It Removes One Element of Three.

By Bryan R. Blackmore

The word does more damage than almost anything else in this area, and it does it by sounding like good news.

A veteran hears that their condition is presumptive. They understand that to mean the claim is a formality. Then the denial arrives, and nothing in it makes sense, because they were told this one was automatic.

A presumption is not a grant. It removes one element out of three.

What a presumption does and does not do: you still have to prove a current diagnosis of a listed condition and qualifying service in the right place during the right window. The presumption supplies only the link between the condition and service. If the condition is not on the list, direct service connection is still available. If an herbicide claim was denied before, a special effective date rule at 38 C.F.R. 3.816 may apply.

The three elements, and which one gets supplied

Service connection ordinarily requires a current diagnosis, an in-service event or exposure, and a medical link between them. That structure is covered in our guide to secondary service connection, which deals with a different shortcut around the same three elements.

A presumption operates on the third one. Where a veteran has a listed condition and qualifying service, VA presumes the connection. No nexus opinion required, no medical expert needed to explain the mechanism.

What the presumption does not do is supply the other two.

You still have to have the diagnosis, and it has to be the listed condition. Lists are written in specific diagnostic terms, and a record describing something adjacent is not the same thing. This is a routine reason presumptive claims fail.

You still have to have the qualifying service. Presumptions are built on location and time. If VA cannot verify that you were in a covered location during a covered period, the presumption never attaches, no matter what condition you have.

Two presumptions, frequently collapsed into one

It helps to separate them, because a claim can satisfy one and fail the other.

Presumed exposure. VA accepts that you were exposed to something based on where and when you served, rather than requiring you to prove the exposure. Herbicide exposure in Vietnam is the oldest example. The PACT Act extended presumed exposure to burn pits and other airborne hazards for service in specified locations and periods.

Presumed service connection. VA accepts that a particular condition is related to that exposure, because the condition is on a list tied to it.

A veteran with verified burn pit exposure and a condition that is not on the list has the first and not the second. A veteran with a listed condition whose service VA cannot place in a covered location has the second available in theory and cannot reach it.

What the PACT Act actually did

Three things, in plain terms.

It added conditions to the burn pit and airborne hazard list, including a group of respiratory conditions and a substantial number of cancers.

It expanded herbicide coverage, adding hypertension and monoclonal gammopathy of undetermined significance to the conditions presumptively associated with herbicide exposure, and adding locations where that exposure is presumed, including service in Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Guam, American Samoa, and Johnston Atoll during specified periods.

It expanded the locations and periods for presumed toxic exposure tied to service in Southwest Asia and, for the post-2001 period, a further set of countries.

Two practical notes on the lists themselves. They are long, they are written in precise diagnostic language, and VA continues to add to them, so the authoritative version is the one VA publishes rather than any summary including this one. And the fact that a condition is absent today does not mean the claim fails today, for the reason in the next section.

Not on the list is not the end

This is the part that gets lost, and it costs claims.

A presumption is a shortcut. It is not the only route to service connection. Any condition can be service connected directly where the evidence supports it, which in an exposure case means a medical opinion explaining why this veteran’s exposure caused this veteran’s condition.

That route is harder. It requires an opinion that addresses the mechanism in probability terms, which is covered in The Exam Is the Appointment. The Opinion Is What Decides the Claim. But it exists, and a decision that denies a claim solely because the condition is not on a presumptive list has answered one theory and left the other undecided. Reading a denial for that kind of gap is the subject of Your Secondary Claim Was Denied Under the Wrong Test.

If you were denied before the law changed

A prior denial on a condition that is now presumptive is not the end of the matter.

A supplemental claim is available at any time on new and relevant evidence, and a change in law creating a presumption can support one. Filed within a year of a decision, a supplemental claim protects the effective date of that earlier claim.

For herbicide exposure claims there is an additional rule that matters a great deal and almost never comes up in conversation. Under 38 C.F.R. § 3.816, when a condition is added to the herbicide presumptive list, certain previously denied claims can be awarded with an effective date running back to the earlier claim rather than to the new filing. For a veteran denied decades ago, that is the difference between benefits from this year and benefits from the year they first asked.

If you were ever denied for a condition now on the herbicide list, that rule is one to ask about by name.

Camp Lejeune is two different processes

These get conflated constantly, and they are not the same thing.

A claim for VA disability compensation based on Camp Lejeune water exposure runs through VA, under VA rules, decided by VA.

A civil action under the Camp Lejeune Justice Act is a lawsuit, with its own filing requirements, its own deadlines, and its own decision makers.

They are separate. Pursuing one is not pursuing the other, and the deadlines do not track each other.

Where these claims get denied

The diagnosis is not the listed one. The record says something close, and close does not attach the presumption.

Service could not be verified in a covered location. Personnel records are thin, the unit history is not in the file, and nobody went looking for deck logs or travel orders.

Only the presumptive theory was decided. The decision says the condition is not on the list and stops, without reaching direct service connection.

The claim was filed for the exposure rather than the disability. Exposure is not a disability and is not rated. What gets rated is the condition it produced.

What to do with this

  1. Check the listed name against your records. If your diagnosis is described differently than the list describes it, that gap is fixable with a treating provider before it becomes a denial.
  2. Prove where you were. Personnel file, orders, unit assignment history, deployment records. For presumptions, location and dates are the whole ballgame, and the file VA decides on is often missing them.
  3. If the condition is not on a list, ask about the direct route rather than treating the list as the boundary of what is possible.
  4. If you were denied before the law changed, look again, and for herbicide claims ask specifically about the effective date rule at § 3.816.
  5. File when the condition appears. The window that allowed backdating to the statute’s enactment has closed, and effective dates now generally run from the claim.

Whether any particular claim succeeds depends on the evidence, the records, and how the file is built. Nobody can tell you your outcome. But a presumption was never a promise that the claim would be easy. It was a promise about one element, and the other two are still yours to establish.


Blackmore Veterans Law, P.C. is a solo practice representing veterans in VA disability claims and appeals. Contact us to discuss your situation.

This article is general information about VA disability law and is not legal advice for any individual case. Reading it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Attorney advertising.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does a presumptive condition actually mean?
Service connection normally requires three things: a current diagnosis, something that happened in service, and a medical link between them. A presumption supplies the link. If you have a listed condition and qualifying service, VA presumes the connection without a nexus opinion. The other two elements still have to be established.
If my condition is presumptive, is my claim automatic?
No, and this is the most common misunderstanding about the PACT Act. Claims for presumptive conditions are denied every day, usually because the diagnosis in the record is not the listed condition, or because VA did not find qualifying service in the right location during the right period. Neither of those is cured by the presumption.
What is the difference between presumed exposure and presumed service connection?
Two separate presumptions that often get collapsed into one. Presumed exposure means VA accepts that you were exposed to a hazard based on where and when you served, without you proving the exposure. Presumed service connection means VA accepts that a listed condition is related to that exposure. A claim can satisfy the first and still fail the second, or fail the first entirely.
What if my condition is not on the presumptive list?
You can still win. A presumption is a shortcut, not the only route. Direct service connection remains available for any condition where the evidence supports it, and that route requires a medical opinion linking the condition to service or to exposure. A denial that says only that the condition is not presumptive has not decided the direct theory.
Does the PACT Act cover Agent Orange?
Yes, in two ways. It added hypertension and monoclonal gammopathy of undetermined significance to the list of conditions presumptively associated with herbicide exposure, and it expanded the locations where herbicide exposure is presumed, including service in Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Guam, American Samoa, and Johnston Atoll during specified periods. VA maintains the current list and the qualifying locations and dates.
I was denied before the PACT Act. Do I have to start over?
Not necessarily. A supplemental claim is available at any time with new and relevant evidence, and a change in the law that creates a presumption can support one. For herbicide exposure claims specifically, a special effective date rule at 38 C.F.R. § 3.816 can allow an award to date back to a previously denied claim rather than to the new filing, which is a large difference in back pay.
Is the Camp Lejeune lawsuit the same as a VA claim?
No. Filing a claim for VA disability compensation based on Camp Lejeune water exposure and pursuing a civil action under the Camp Lejeune Justice Act are separate processes with separate rules, separate deadlines, and separate decision makers. One does not substitute for the other.
What is the effective date for a PACT Act claim now?
Generally the date VA received the claim, or the date entitlement arose, whichever is later. The one-year window that allowed claims to be backdated to the statute's enactment has closed, which is why filing when a condition appears rather than after years of treating it continues to matter.
BB
Bryan R. Blackmore
Veterans Law Attorney | Former BVA Attorney | 24-Year Coast Guard Veteran

Bryan Blackmore served as an Attorney at the Board of Veterans' Appeals, giving him firsthand insight into how VA decisions are made and how to advocate for them effectively.

Learn More About Bryan →

Have Questions About Your VA Claim?

Your first consultation is free and confidential. Let's talk about your situation.

Schedule a Free Consultation →